University of
Get Connected !
Quick Enquiry

University Grants Commission has recognized University of Mysore as "University with Potential for Excellence"

University of Mysore LogoThe Mission: Unversity of Mysore aims at ‘promoting teaching and research in conventional and traditional domains of Arts, Humanities, Pure and Applied Sciences and Professional disciplines’.

The University of Mysore was started on 27 July 1916, and is the first University outside the domain of the British administration in India, the sixth University in India as a whole. Sir M Visvesvaraya who was a notable Indian engineer has played a decisive role in the launch of the University. It is also the first ever University in Karnataka which became autonomous on 3 March 1956, when it gained recognition from the University Grants Commission (UGC). University of Mysore was first accredited by National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC) with Five Star status in the year 2000 and has been reaccredited in 2006 at A+ level. Current Science has ranked the University of Mysore as one of the top 20 Universities in Scientific and Research activities.

Today the University has 42 Postgraduate Departments at the Main Campus, Manasagangotri, 2 Postgraduate Centres, viz., Tubinakere, Mandya, Hemagangotri, Hassan with 5 Postgraduate Departments each and one Satellite Centre at Chamarajanagar with 3 Postgraduate Departments. It is providing higher education to about 85 lakhs students, of which over 10,000 are Postgraduates. As many as 1400 students are from 50 countries pursuing higher studies in this University. Some of these countries are China, Iran, Jordan, Thailand, Indonesia, Egypt, Syria, Tanzania, Uzbekistan, Kajkhastan, Kirghizia, Mongolia, Uganda, Yemon, Kenya, Palestine, Srilanka, Bangladesh and Nepal.

The University of Mysore is a globally acclaimed institution of higher education. It has acquired an aura of excellence thanks to its manifold achievements and innovations in the field of higher education.